Southern Branch of the American Society of Agronomy 2017 Meetings Mobile, AL

Meeting called to order by Dexter B. Watts, president, at 5 pm

Officers were introduced for the 2016-2017 year. Officers are Dr. Mark Reiter, Past President; Dr. Dexter B. Watts, President; Dr. Paul DeLaune, Vice President; Dr. Julie Howe, Secretary/Treasurer; and Dr. Jason Krutz, Secretary/Treasurer elect.

Minutes from the 2016 meeting. Dr. Mark Reiter made a motion to dispense the reading of the minutes. The motion was seconded and motion passed.

Treasurer's Report – Dr. Julie Howe. Starting balance was \$6.844, which was down \$1,210 from 2015. Attendance at this meeting was considerably higher in 2017 than 2016 (2016: 65 (26 professional and 39 students) and 2017: 103 (50 professional and 53 students). Due to increased attendance and slightly less expenditures, it is estimated that the balance for this year will be up by \$3,165. Dr. Wayne Ebelhar mentioned that the program was not on the ASA website until a week before the meeting and that abstracts were not posted at all. Dr. Watts had inquired about the abstract issue earlier in the day with ASA headquarters. The abstracts were posted by the following day. In addition, Dr. Howe indicated there was considerable confusion with registration. Many people thought they registered for the conference when they submitted their abstract. Dr. Howe will talk to ASA headquarters about earlier program posting and updating the website to include abstract and registration simultaneously.

Topical Sessions – Dr. Dexter Watts suggested that we have more topical sessions because many do not want to come without a focused reason. However, Dr. Carl Crozier suggested that dividing up our already small group might be splitting up too much. Ideas for possible sessions included: Use of UAVs in agronomic production decisions; Focus on physiological and breeding as it relates to agronomic production to give a complete package; Cover crops and irrigation as related to water and soil quality; and Poultry litter management.

Future meeting locations – Dr. Wayne Ebelhar mentioned that next meeting is set for Jacksonville, FL, but there is no other definite location. Suggestions included: Birmingham, Nashville, Pensacola, Tallahassee, Knoxville, Ashville, Hilton Head, and Savannah. Dr. Ebelhar also mentioned that we need 1500 room-nights (approximately 500 rooms for 3 nights) and 50 meeting rooms in a location that does not typically have snow or ice.

Awards

Early Career Award – Dr. Mark Reiter presented the award to Dr. Nithya Rajan from Texas A&M University.

Drs. Dexter Watts and Paul DeLaune presented student awards

<u>Undergraduate Poster Competition</u>

3rd place – Zac Sumner

2nd place – Sara Shayt

1st place – Hunt Wahle

M.S. Poster Competition

3rd place tie – Joey Williams

3rd place tie – Lauren Lintz

2nd place – Caleb Duke

1st place – Shane Carver

Ph.D. Poster Competition

3rd place – C. Wijewardana

2nd place – Yaru Lin

1st place - Rui Yang

M.S. Oral Presentations

3rd place – Kristen Pegues

2nd place – Jacob Sanchez

1st place – Chad Abbott

Ph.D. Oral Presentation

3rd place – Yaru Lin

2nd place – A. Jani

1st place – Lisa Baxter

Recognition was given to the student judges and moderators for the oral presentations.

Nominations for Secretary/Treasurer elect: Nithya Rajan nominated by Song Coi Mike Mulvaney nominated by Julie Howe Brian Henry nominated by Mark Reiter

Dr. Mark Reiter indicated there is an opening for member at large, please see him for nominations

The gavel was passed from Dr. Dexter Watts to Dr. Paul DeLaune (President to Present-elect).

Meeting was adjourned at 5:50 pm